Service d’Observation par Satellite des Zones Humides (SWOS)

  En dépit d’être des hotspots de biodiversité et de fournir des services écosystémiques inestimables, les zones humides font partie des écosystèmes qui déclinent le plus rapidement dans le monde. Les informations sur leurs emplacements, leurs délimitations, leurs caractéristiques écologiques ainsi que les services qu’ils rendent sont souvent rares et difficiles d’accès. Le résultat est une prise en considération limitée de leur état dans les politiques et les pratiques de […]

AnglaisFrançais

WAMAN SEBOU : Gestion des ressources en eau au Maroc (bassin du Sebou)

  Au cours des dix dernières années, un partenariat solide a été établi entre les principaux organes de gestion du bassin de l’oued Sebou (Maroc) et plusieurs organisations internationales pour la conservation de la nature et des zones humides. Il a permis de renforcer la prise de conscience visant à améliorer les pratiques de gestion de l’eau, notamment avec la mise en œuvre de la notion de « débit écologique». […]

AnglaisFrançais

Les Sentinelles des Zones Humides au Maghreb: le réseau MedWet de la Société Civile

  L’Afrique du Nord abrite de nombreux sites importants classés sur la liste des zones humides d’importance internationale de la Convention de Ramsar (Sites Ramsar), tels que les estuaires, les chotts, les marécages côtiers, les lacs de montagne et les oasis, etc. Malheureusement, ces zones humides de grande valeur écologique sont menacées par les activités humaines. L’objectif général était de contribuer à promouvoir la conservation et la gestion durable et […]

AnglaisFrançais

Partenariat pour la gestion intégrée des ressources en eau Méditerranée

Bien qu’elles fournissent d’importants services écosystémiques gratuitement, en particulier ceux liés à l’eau, les zones humides méditerranéennes souffrent des activités humaines qui conduisent à la surexploitation de cette ressource naturelle comme le prélèvement d’eau, l’agriculture non durable, les centrales hydro-électriques et les installations de stockage d’eau. Pour s’attaquer au problème de l’utilisation et de la gestion non durables de l’eau, sept organisations internationales ont lancé un partenariat dans le bassin méditerranéen […]

AnglaisFrançais

Initiative des salines pour la conservation et la restauration des zones humides côtières en Méditerranée

Les marais salants font souvent partie de plus grands complexes de zones humides et abritent de nombreuses espèces de flore et de faune qui dépendent de plus en plus de ce paysage artificiel. Ils abritent également des pratiques artisanales d’extraction du sel qui sont mutuellement bénéfiques pour les humains et la nature. Mais les marais salants sont maintenant souvent mal gérés ou simplement abandonnés. Dans le cadre de sa stratégie […]

AnglaisFrançais

Spatialisation des fonctions des zones humides pour un pilotage renouvelé des politiques sur les zones humides dans le bassin du Rhône

  La plupart des mesures de conservation des zones humides omettent leurs dimensions fonctionnelles et se concentrent uniquement sur les aspects patrimoniaux. Une approche fonctionnelle souligne l’importance des zones humides ayant une biodiversité ordinaire. La spatialisation des fonctions des zones humides permet de définir un domaine de concertation avec les acteurs locaux et de réfléchir à des stratégies multi-échelles pour la gestion des zones humides. L’objectif général du projet est […]

AnglaisFrançais

Environmental water requirements of wetlands and their importance for river basin management in the Mediterranean, including the effects of climate change on natural water flow

We are happy to announce the publication of the Briefing note “Environmental water requirements of wetlands and their importance for river basin management in the Mediterranean, including the effects of climate change on natural water flow”, developed by the Specialist Group on Water (Water-SG) of the Scientific and Technical Network of MedWet (MedWet/STN). Wetlands are vital for human survival. As one of the world’s most productive environments, wetlands are indispensable […]

English

Satellite-based Wetland Observation Service (SWOS)

  In spite of being hotspots of biodiversity and providing precious ecosystem services, wetlands are one of the fastest declining ecosystems worldwide. Information on their locations, their delineations, their ecological character and their services is often sparse and difficult to find or access. The result is a limited coverage of wetlands in policies and management practices. SWOS is a Horizon-2020 project funded by the European Commission. Its main objective is […]

EnglishFrench

WAMAN SEBOU: Managing Water Resources in Morocco (the Sebou river basin)

  During the last ten years, a solid partnership has been built between the main management bodies in the Sebou river basin (Morocco) and several international organisations for nature and wetland conservation. This has greatly improved awareness of the need for improving water management practices, by implementing the notion of a river minimum flow as a key approach. The WAMAN (WAter MANagement) Sebou project is intended to build on the […]

EnglishFrench

Wetlands Sentinels in the Maghreb: the MedWet Network of Civil Society

  North Africa is home to many important sites ranked on the list of Wetlands of International Importance (Ramsar Sites) such as estuaries, chotts, coastal swamps, mountain lakes, and oases. Unfortunately, these wetlands of high ecological value are threatened because of human activities. The overall objective was to contribute to promoting the conservation and sustainable participatory management of selected priority wetlands in Algeria, Morocco and Tunisia through the development and […]

EnglishFrench

Partnership for integrated management of water resources for nature and people in the Mediterranean

In spite of providing important ecosystem services for free, especially those related to water, Mediterranean wetlands suffer from human activities that lead to theoverexploitationofthisnatural resource, such as water abstraction, unsustainable agriculture, hydropower, and water storage facilities. To tackle the problem of unsustainable water use and management, seven international organizations have started a partnership in the Mediterranean Basin for achieving change on the ground and to build capacity in the region. This […]

EnglishFrench

Saltpans Initiative for coastal wetland conservation and restoration in the Mediterranean Region

Saltpans are often part of larger wetland complexes and host many flora and fauna species that have become increasingly dependent on this manmade landscape. They are also home to artisanal practices of salt extraction that are mutually beneficial for both humans and nature. But saltpans are now often mismanaged or simply abandoned. As part of the its strategy for Mediterranean coastal wetlands, MAVA Foundation is supporting the project “Overarching activities […]

EnglishFrench