إن مبادرة المناطق الرطبة المتوسطية MedWet هي منظمة غير ربحية، تأسست في عام 1991، وتضم في عضويتها 26 بلدا من بلدان البحر الأبيض المتوسط والتي تمثل أطرافا في اتفاقية الأراضي الرطبة (Ramsar، إيران، 1971)، بالإضافة إلى فلسطين ومجموعة من المنظمات ومراكز الأراضي الرطبة.

الكيانات المكونة لمبادرة MedWet والمعترف بها في شروطها المرجعية (فرنسي، إنجليزي) هي كالتالي:

  1.  لجنة الأراضي الرطبة المتوسطية (MedWet/Com)
  2.  المجموعة التوجيهية (MedWet/SG)
  3.  الشبكة العلمية والتقنية (MedWet/STN)
  4.   أمانة MedWet

قائمة أعضاء لجنة الأراضي الرطبة المتوسطية (فبراير 2016)

قائمة أعضاء المجموعة التوجيهية (فبراير 2016)

الشروط المرجعية للشبكة العلمية والتقنية (مايو 2016)

في عام 1999، أقر مؤتمر الأطراف ﺍﻟﻤﺘﻌﺎﻗﺩﺓ لاتفاقية Ramsar، رسميا، مبادرة MedWet في مشروع القرار VII.22، حيث وافق على إنشاء لجنة الأراضي الرطبة المتوسطية (MedWet/Com) في إطار الاتفاقية، كمنتدى للتعاون بشأن الأراضي الرطبة في منطقة البحر الأبيض المتوسط وكمستشار للاتفاقية فيما يخص القضايا التي تهم المنطقة.  (انظر وثيقة القرار VII.22 فرنسي/إنجليزي).

في عام 2002، اعتمد مؤتمر الأطراف ﺍﻟﻤﺘﻌﺎﻗﺩﺓ لاتفاقية Ramsar مشروع القرار VIII.30، والذي من خلاله أقر الإرشادات المنصوص عليها في الملحق الأول لمشروع القرار من أجل تطوير المبادرات الإقليمية في إطار اتفاقية Ramsar، وإعترف بالأهمية الكبرى للدعم المالي والسياسي المقدمين لمبادرة MedWet من قبل الأطراف المتعاقدة في المنطقة، وخاصة من جانب اليونان الدولة المضيفة لأمانتها. كما كلف الأمين العام بوضع تجربة وحدة تنسيق MedWet وشركائها تحت تصرف المبادرات الإقليمية الأخرى، إذا تطلب الأمر ذلك وبالشكل المناسب. (انظر وثيقة القرار VIII.30 فرنسي/ إنجليزي).

لقد تم الاعتراف إلى حد الأن ب 15 مبادرة إقليمية، بموجب اتفاقية Ramsar، تنظمها المبادئ التوجيهية المعتمدة من قبل مؤتمر الأطراف والتي لا تزال قيد الدراسة من قبل اللجنة الدائمة ل Ramsar بناءا على طلب المؤتمر الثاني عشر للأطراف المتعاقدة للاتفاقية (الأوروغواي، 2015).

تعمل MedWet مع العديد من الشركاء في المنطقة من أجل مواصلة مهمتها كما تشارك في تعزيز وتنفيذ مشاريع محددة.

يتم تمويل MedWet من مساهمات الدول الأعضاء، وحاليا، من المنح المقدمة من منظمة MAVA ووكالة الماء رون – المتوسط كورس (Agence de l’Eau Rhône Méditerranée Corse)

Established in 1991, the Mediterranean Wetlands Initiative brings together 26 Mediterranean and peri-Mediterranean countries that are Parties to the Convention on Wetlands (Ramsar, Iran, 1971). Palestine and a number of organizations and wetland centres are also part of the MedWet Initiative.

The different entities of the MedWet Initiative, as established in its Terms of Reference, are:

  1. The Mediterranean Wetlands Committee
  2. The MedWet Steering Group
  3. The MedWet Scientific and Technical Network
  4. The MedWet Secretariat

List of members of the Mediterranean Wetlands Committee (February 2016)

List of members of the Steering Group (February 2016)

Terms of Reference of the Scientific and Technical Network (May 2016)

In 1999, the Conference of the Parties to the Ramsar Convention formally recognized MedWet in its Resolution VII.22 in the following terms: “APPROVES the establishment of the Mediterranean Wetlands Committee (MedWet/Com) within the framework of the Convention, as a forum for collaboration on wetland issues in the Mediterranean and as an advisor to the Convention in this region.” (See the resolution document here on Ramsar website).

In 2002, the Ramsar COP adopted Resolution VIII.30, in which, inter alia, “ENDORSES the Guidance for the development of Regional Initiatives in the framework of the Convention on Wetlands presented in Annex I to this Resolution; … RECOGNIZES the critical importance of financial and political support from Contracting Parties of the region to the MedWet Initiative, and especially from the host country of its Coordination Unit 〔Greece〕; … REQUESTS the Secretary General to ensure that the experience of the MedWet Coordination Unit and its partners will be at the disposal of other regional initiatives as required and in the most appropriate form.” (See the resolution document on Ramsar website).

By now, the Ramsar Convention has recognized 15 Regional Initiatives, which are governed by specific Guidelines adopted by the COP. These Guidelines are currently being reviewed by the Ramsar Standing Committee, as requested by Ramsar COP12 (Uruguay, 2015).

MedWet works with a large number of partners in the region and participates in the promotion and execution of specific projects to further its mission.

Core funding for MedWet is provided by its member countries and, at present, by grants from the MAVA Foundation and the French Water Agency Rhône Méditerranée Corse.